Biji Jjigae (and Anchovy stock)

So it may well be that I wanted to make soy milk for the byproduct of the process. I mean I wanted to make soy milk of course, but what really hooked me on the idea of making soy milk was when I came across a recipe for biji jjigae. Well, more accurately, the description of the dish as humble and inexpensive and often associated with the poor folk who live in the mountains of Korea (they had me at inexpensive) drew my interest. That and my affinity to dishes that make use of things that might otherwise go to waste. I only had to wait until my budget could sustain a blender. Well, I got a blender after about a year without. You may be surprised to learn that you can in fact survive without a blender, but occasionally one longs for the things that all but require those little spinning blades to make.

With a blender sitting squarely on my countertop I was now tasked with finding a suitable recipe. I had one sort of recipe, a footnote really, but I wanted to see what variations where out there. Well it seems that most of the recipes out there call for just making soy pulp specifically for the jjigae (1 cup of soaked soy beans and 1 cup of water blended smooth, if you want to go that route, just cut down on the stock). Some of the recipes were more complicated, some less. I think the best one I came across used my favorite method of measuring, that is; “half a hand full of chopped pork, half a hand full of chopped kimchi” etc. etc. I just worry my hands might be bigger than your average Korean grandmother’s. So after a lot of searching and a lot of trial runs I sort of settled for a middle of the road approach. A recipe that preserves the frugal, make use of the byproduct origin of the dish, but is still really flavorful. Without being too gussied up to resemble its roots.

Recipe:

  • 1 T of oil (I prefer sesame for this particular one)
  • 1 green onion, chopped (white and light green parts, save the tops for garnish)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 4 0z. lean pork, sliced thin
  • 1/2 to 1 c. of kimchi, chopped
  • 2 T. of kimchi juice
  • 1/2 T of soy sauce
  • 2 c. anchovy stock (recipe below)
  • 1 c. soybean pulp
  • a few slices of red or green chili pepper

Method:

  1. Put a suitable pot (say one that holds about 3-4 cups) over medium high heat, when hot add the sesame oil, green onion, garlic, and pork slices. Saute together for a couple minutes. (If you so desire you can chop and add some of the shiitake mushrooms from the stock)
  2. Next add the chopped kimchi and saute for a couple more minutes.
  3. Add the stock, kimchi juice, and soy sauce and bring to a boil.
  4. Boil for about 10 minutes then add the soy bean pulp. Bring back to a boil and reduce heat so it doesn’t boil over. Cook for a further 10 minutes.
  5. Garnish with slices of chili pepper and onion tops

Anchovy Stock

Anchovy stock is quite versatile, easy to make, and can be used in a number of different jjigae and soup recipes.

Recipe:

  • 5 c. of water
  • 8 large dried anchovies, heads removed
  • 1/2 onion
  • 3 dried shiitake mushrooms
  • 1 piece of konbu/dried kelp (about 5 x 5 inches)

Method:

  1. Put the water, anchovies, onion, shiitakes, and kelp in a large pot.
  2. Bring to a boil and simmer for 30 minutes.
  3. Remove from heat. Strain off the stock. Reserve the mushrooms for the jjigae if desired.

About L P

cook, eat, ride, live
This entry was posted in East Asian, Food, Korean, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Biji Jjigae (and Anchovy stock)

  1. Pingback: 炸豆渣塊 | An Acquired Taste

Leave a Reply

